Day 3-Friday Finances

dave ramsey

I wrote about our financial situation a few weeks ago and the plans we have to get out of debt and start saving before we hit retirement age.  We attended our third week of Financial Peace University last night and I have to say the Dave Ramsey is a dynamic speaker. I’m getting tired of his face on every book, workbook and video we watch, but his methods are solid so I’ll stick with it. It’s not a bad face, it’s just everywhere.

Last night’s class was the nitty gritty of budgeting, assigning every dollar a job, and using cash for most everyday purchases.  My husband got excited about it, and was really understanding how to make it happen when I was getting annoyed.  Yes, annoyed. I guess I’m starting to realize that from now on we are going to have to sit down together and decide how to spend our money.  Until now I’ve just spent where I thought necessary, since I’m the one who cooks, clothes and cleans, furnishes, finances and plans for the future I’ve held the strings, so to speak, for the past 25 years. I will now have to relinquish some of that control come to the table and negotiate, compromise and be completely forthright.

Geez it sounds like I’ve been hiding something. Well maybe I have, I often have spent too much here(extra money for expensive food, think whole foods) or too much there(ordering one too many books over the year) and haven’t felt the need to “confess” well because it wasn’t like I was breaking the law because there was no law, no guidelines etc. It’s not like I was running up the credit cards with expensive clothes and furniture. But truth be told I resented not having accountability at the same time I resented not being able to spend without guilt.  Does that make sense? I’m a complicated mess when it comes to money.

I need to affirm and encourage my husbands input and be excited about moving towards clear goals. I will, I resolve, be nice, play nice, spend nice. We budget tonight I’ll let you know how it goes.

The plans of the diligent lead surely to plenty, but those of everyone who is hasty, surely to poverty. Proverbs 21:5

2 thoughts on “Day 3-Friday Finances

Leave a Reply

