Day 8- Dream House

One of my favorite things to do is to look at listings on real estate sites.  Redfin and Zillow are my friends.  Well, until they’ve sucked an hour of my time and zapped my contentment for where I live now.  Redfin even sends me emails with houses within my criteria that they think I might like. Isn’t that nice.

We are not in the market for a home. We might be if we could sell the one we live in now for a profit but we are victims of the housing crash that sucked the equity out of our home.  We’ve been hoping to regain value for nine years and probably have about 5 more years before our house could sell for what we paid for it.

I am grateful though because I get the itch to move and change my surroundings every few years and this house and neighborhood have been the right place for our family for a lot of reasons. God knows how to keep me in one place.

We are fairly confident this is not the house we’ll live in for the rest our lives and we’ll probably move as soon as it is financially feasible. So I continue to look at options.

IMG_4064

I’d love a little place with a little land and a nice view. The ocean would be wonderful but I envision something pastoral, wide open space with a forest or maybe hills in the distance.  A place where in the evenings the expanse of stars can be seen. Maybe enough land for a small barn a few horses or other animals.  A garden with lots of flowers to pick and vegetables to eat. A temperate climate but one with seasons. Virginia is pretty ideal for that.

The house itself, maybe an old farm house, or if we can build a new farm house, or cape cod style with dormers, or maybe a grand victorian. It would have a large porch to sit on and a big kitchen to gather in. Plenty of space for family to come and visit grandchildren running around. A girl can dream.

photo

What really brings me comfort though when thinking about where I live or where I wished I lived or about the changes I’d like to make to the house I live in now or the yard or the view or whatever it is about my living situation that sometimes makes be discontent is what Jesus told his disciples towards the end of his life.

Right after Jesus, who by the way had no where to lay his head, tells Peter that he’s going to deny him three times he tells his disciples to not be troubled:

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so , would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? ” John 14:1-2

Is Jesus just being metaphorical?  I don’t know, who knows what heaven is really like. But he’s preparing a place.  A place that I know is far better than anything I could ask or imagine and is probably way out of my price range here on earth. It’s probably not a fixer upper either but completely, perfectly done. The view I imagine is fantastical. And the lighting well perfect.

“‘And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going’ Thomas said to him, ‘Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?’ Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.'”

John 14:3-7

Jesus, The Way, The Truth and The Life, is preparing an incomparable place for me.  I don’t know if I’ll ever get my  house with a view here on earth but I am confident that in eternity with Jesus I will be perfectly content in the place he has prepared for me.

8 thoughts on “Day 8- Dream House

  1. Discontent can sneak into our hearts in so many ways! It seems that the harder I try to be content with where I am at the easier it is to find something else that interrupts my efforts! I completely understand the Zillow thing too! We are looking for a home and are living in a temporary place without any of our stuff (definitely working on being content with someone else’s fake leather sofa, no mixer, 4 spoons……) and I look on Zillow daily. It is hard not to fall into the trap of looking at what isn’t realistic and comparing what we can afford with the ‘dream’ homes!

    Thank you for the wonderful post!

    Like

  2. Beautiful! As someone who has moved 8 times in the last 12 years, I am a friend of Zillow too. I love their courtesy emails. 🙂 That white stone house at the top of the post is gorgeous!

    Like

    1. thanks, that picture is at the bottom of Maryland Heights which is just across the river from Harpers Ferry, WV. A reminder that nothing in this world lasts forever. but in it’s day it must have been so cool.

      Like

  3. Oh yeah, I am right there with ya. My 31 day series last year was “Lots of Hope for the Little Home” which was finding contentment in my 800 square foot apartment, but I definitely love to dream and hopefully we’ll be out of here in a year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

