Day 12- Sunday Psalm

Psalm 147

Praise the Lord,

How good it is to sing praises to our god,

how pleasant and fitting to praise him!

The Lord builds up Jerusalem; he gathers the exiles of Israel,

He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.

He determines the number of the stars and calls them each by name.

Great is our Lord and mighty in power; his understanding has no limit.

The Lord sustains the humble but casts the wicked to the ground.

Sing to the Lord with thanksgiving; make music to our God on the harp.

He covers the sky with clouds; and makes grass grow on the hills.

He provides food for the cattle and for the young ravens when they call.

His pleasure is not in the strength of the horse, nor his delight in the legs of a man;

the Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in  his unfailing love.

Extol the Lord, O Jerusalem; praise your God, O Zion,

for he strengthens the bars of your gates and blesses your people within you.

He grants peace to your borders and satisfies you with the finest of wheat.

He sends his command to the earth; his word runs swiftly.

He spreads the snow like wool and scatters the frost like ashes.

He hurls down his hail like pebbles. Who can withstand his icy blast?

He sends his word and melts them; he stirs up his breezes, and the waters flow.

He has revealed his word to Jacob, his laws and decrees to Israel.

He has done this for no other nation; they do not know his laws.

Praise the Lord.

The Universe is a humbling place. Who can look at the sky, a sunset or the Grand Canyon while contemplating existence and not feel humbled. Whether you believe in God or not it’s a belittling experience to comprehend the awesomeness of nature. Scientists make their life’s work of it and probably have a better grasp of the complexity of the universe yet many scientists don’t believe in a creator of the world. I found this quote of Einstein who at the end of his life did not believe in God, but as a scientist had a deep appreciation for the mystery in the universe.

“To sense that behind anything that can be experienced there is a something that our minds cannot grasp, whose beauty and sublimity reaches us only indirectly: this is religiousness. In this sense I am religious. To me it suffices to wonder at these secrets and to attempt humbly to grasp with my mind a mere image of the lofty structure of all there is.” What I Believe

DSC_0239

As a believer in creation it’s comforting to be able to direct my wonder and awe of creation to a person who has revealed himself through The Holy Bible and is active and present in my life. I don’t overlook that there are mysteries that I don’t understand.  I don’t, even as a Christian, expect I can explain the complexity of existence or how the world came to be. No scientist or Christian will ever come to a full understanding of anything.  I don’t believe in God because it’s comforting though, or because my faith in the God of the bible has all the answers. It doesn’t, there is mystery still. Sometimes I’m not sure why I believe, because it would certainly be easier if I could just say with many in the world that whatever you believe is OK for you and just take what works for me and discard the rest, like Thomas Jefferson did. My uncle, a Catholic priest, once said we need to be comfortable with mystery. It is my faith in the God of the bible that sustains me and gives me hope and directs my life and I am comfortable with the mystery of it all.

Martha's iphone pictures 515

Even still my faith wavers and I sometimes forget that the God of the universe; the one who put each star in place, and controls the seasons and the weather and has unlimited understanding, cares for me in a personal way. This Psalm is a great reminder. As I recount the goodness in my life I am reminded too. He heals the brokenhearted and binds their wounds and delights in us who hope in him. Today I am privileged to be able to attend church freely and worship God freely with others to celebrate His power and goodness towards all his creation.

Will you be worshiping with others today?

3 thoughts on “Day 12- Sunday Psalm

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. 🙂 My theory on science vs. mystery vs. God – God is the inspiration for us to continue to explore science. We will never know all of the answers – we just unlock new questions as we discover new information along the way, and God (and in my case, Goddess as well) continues to open our eyes to the unending complexity around us. Mystery is good – it keeps us inspired to be better. 🙂

    Have a lovely rest of your weekend,
    Melissa
    http://www.measi.net/measiblog/

    Like

Leave a Reply

