Day 26- Sunday Psalm-Psalm 32

DSC_0176

From the Message Bible

Count yourself lucky, how happy you must be-
you get a fresh start,
your slate’s wiped clean

Count yourself lucky-
Yahweh holds nothing against you
and you’re holding nothing back from him.

When I kept it all inside,
my bones turned to powder,
my words became daylong groans.

The pressure never let up;
all the juices of my life dried up.

Then I let it all out;
I said, “I’ll make a clean breast of my failures to Yahweh.”

Suddenly the pressure was gone=
my guilt dissolved,
my sin disappeared.

These things add up.  Everyone of us needs to pray;
when all hell breaks loose and the dam bursts
we’ll be on high ground, untouched.

Yahweh’s my island hideaway,
keeps danger far from the shore,
throws garlands of hosannas around my neck.

Let me give you some good advice;
I’m looking you in the eye
and giving it to you straight:

“Don’t be ornery like a horse or a mule
that needs bit and bridle
to stay on track.”

God-defiers are always in trouble;
Yahweh-affirmers find themselves loved
every time they turn around.

Celebrate Yahweh.
Sing together-everyone!
All you honest hearts, raise the roof!

 

I don’t always like the message bible, it seems so colloquial and not even modern colloquial but like 1950’s.  I wanted something different though so I started thumbing through the Message Psalms. This one reminded me of my new life in Christ.  How all has been made new. And not just from my former god-less life but from my present struggles as well. The same God who pulled me out of the darkness of addiction and promiscuity is the same God who pulls me out of the more refined sins of self righteousness and pride, when I confess. This God, as I cry out and hold nothing back, dissolves my guilt.

Oh how I need to humble myself though, not try to figure this life out on my own; cry out to God and speak.

When I kept it all inside,
my bones turned to powder,
my words became daylong groans.

The Physical ramifications of keeping it all in and not confessing are real.

So today if you hear his voice, whether in the sanctuary of your church, or the still small voice of your conscience, turn to God and let his love teach you the way you should go.

 

10 thoughts on “Day 26- Sunday Psalm-Psalm 32

  1. Something I needed to hear today: “Yahweh-affirmers find themselves loved every time they turn around.” Isn’t that simply incredible. Not sometimes. Or occasionally. Every single time.

    Visiting from 31 Days FB group!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thank you ladies for your comments! I’m seeing new parts of the psalm every minute. I love the island hideaway and being loved around every corner too! our God is so good.

    Like

  3. “Suddenly the pressure is gone.” I can’t tell you how many times it hasn’t occurred to me to confess my prideful ways, and when I finally have an “aha” moment and DO confess, the pressure that is lifted is surreal. I loved this version!

    Like

  4. This was great to read a fresh perspective on Psalm 32. I especially liked
    God-defiers are always in trouble;
    Yahweh-affirmers find themselves loved
    every time they turn around.
    Love that! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

