Day 29: Being Known

Seems everything I’ve been reading and coming across in blog posts and devotionals has something to do with being known. Being known can make us feel vulnerable but also gives us security when those who really know us love us. Love.

Love practiced is the process of getting to know people. In the book Anatomy of the Soul (yes that book again…) He describes a way of loving based on 1 Corinthians:

We have been called to embody all the virtues listed in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7, but without love we cannot do so. And I suggest that the path to developing such love includes

the process of being known;

the experience of feeling felt;

the encounter of being validated but never coddled;

being cared for but not overwhelmed or patronized;

being fully understood while called into proper risk-taking adventure;

being healed and awakened to growth, compassion and responsibility,

Furthermore, this process requires us to live in close proximity to one another. Becoming a body that breathes justice and mercy requires the presence of love, which then doubles back, its full development depending on that very community. Ultimately this cycle is empowered by the Holy Spirit, who creates all of this through the process of being known.

Oh how I long for yet somehow avoid being in close proximity to others.  Even those I live with I avoid and stay emotionally distant. I don’t share how I feel, yet let out my aggravation, I don’t ask for help yet fume when no one comes to my aid.  I stew and brew in the cesspool of my mind where I rehash grievances, rehearse how to rebuke, and relish my judgement.

Oh but for the grace of God I’d be living only for myself and would be swimming in that cesspool everyday while thinking it’s a mountain spring. To be known by others we have to step courageously closer. As we step our stink will permeate, the ugliness revealed. Yet confessing brings healing.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

James 5:16

And He already knows us.

You have searched me,Lord,
    and you know me. Psalm 139:1

There is no hiding.

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you. Psalm 139:11-12

And there is no greater love than that of one who knows us yet laid down His life for us.  So let yourself be known to others  because in being known you let Him be known.

 

4 thoughts on “Day 29: Being Known

  1. Being known and loved is our greatest desire. Yet it is such a vulnerable thing. It’s hard to be open and trust my heart with others. Even those who are closest to me only get a part not the whole.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

