Hiding the Word to Apprehend Joy

This year I want the Word of God to penetrate my heart and mind. I want to hide the Word in such a way that it wouldn’t actually be hidden but be accessible. I want to be able to recall Truth so that I can apply it.

I’ve never been great at memorizing. But over the next few months I hope to memorize Psalm 16. Just a verse a week.

Psalm 16

Keep me safe, my God,
for in you I take refuge.
2 I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
apart from you I have no good thing.”
3 I say of the holy people who are in the land,
“They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
4 Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
or take up their names on my lips.
5 Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
you make my lot secure.
6 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.
7 I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
even at night my heart instructs me.
8 I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.
9 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
nor will you let your faithful one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
you will fill me with joy in your presence,
with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

This Psalm is a go to Psalm for me.  I have always especially liked the part where the Psalmist declares that the boundary lines have fallen in pleasant places.  This is something I ponder often especially when I am tempted to discontent. I want to know deep down that what I sometimes see as blockades to getting what I want are actually boundaries God has placed in my life to keep me in His will.

Joy is the goal. Entering into the presence of God to know that He is my refuge, that no good thing comes apart from him, that He holds my lot and He will counsel me and that I will be filled with joy in His presence and eternal pleasures are mine.  That makes for joyful living.

Here are some helps in memorizing if you’d like to join along.

Psalm 16 Psalm 16-1-11

 

One thought on “Hiding the Word to Apprehend Joy

Leave a Reply

