Winter Will Give Way to Spring

As I sit here watching the snow fall lightly on the deadness of winter I wonder if I’ll be able to keep the plans of denying, devoting and discipling during lent. I wonder if, as the winter that seems endless finally does give way to spring if I will experience newness in the same way. Will contemplating Easter restore to me the joy of my salvation?

IMG_4801

What dormant dreams will come to life? Or will all that’s stirring beneath the hard cold exterior never emerge? I hope that what I pour into these next 40 days of lent will bear fruit. I pray God will bless my meager plans.  I hope that what I spend will satisfy. I know though His thoughts are not my own:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the Lord.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts.

10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Isaiah 55

As the rain and snow water the earth will God’s word water my soul and will I recognize His work and purpose in my life?

I want to enter into a deeper communion with God and His word in the days leading up to Easter. Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and I’m kicking off the season of lent this year with some grand plans held loosely yet determinedly.

Want to follow along?  You can by clicking the follow button in the side bar.

 

One thought on “Winter Will Give Way to Spring

Leave a Reply

