Home Sweet Home?

6fb763113cd9c105fc245e2b2d9da20b

Home Sweet Home, Not a sentiment everyone can grasp.

We hosted a Valentines dinner for our church back in February. We had a fun time of food and fellowship and meaningful discussion. Our theme for the night was “home”. Jesus came to earth, made a home with us, then went to prepare a place for us and until then  lives with us every day. Discussion questions centered around what makes us feel at home here on earth. Most answered along the lines of where we feel comfortable, places we feel like we can put up our feet and let down our guard and just be ourselves.
Some of us didn’t live in that kind of place growing up, myself included. I often walked on eggshells at home as a girl because I didn’t know the next time my  my father might be drunk or my parents might be fighting. I often felt I had offended them or was doing something wrong. I was awkward and didn’t know how to express myself. My mother couldn’t quite figure me out and was pretty busy with my younger siblings and her irresponsible husband. I was a free range child with no boundaries or responsibilities.  My mother* is the first to admit I was somewhat neglected. I never really felt “at home” at home.

I did know a place though where the laughter was generous, the love was tangible and there was no fear.
Mom Jenny showed the love of Christ to me. She welcomed me in, played games, taught me to sew, brought me to church and even though she had her own troubles she always spoke of God’s generous provision and protection. It was at the little Baptist church in Osterville, MA that Jenny took me too each Sunday where I heard bible stories and the good news and where I felt accepted and at home.  For about three years I attended that church, took part in their Sunday school and then the youth group before my parents separated and, our of necessity, Mom moved us 500 miles away.  By then I was drifting towards rebellion anyway but  Jenny, who I still call my other mom, that church and the kind people who made me feel at home left a lasting impact on my life.

Erin, Mom Jenny, and me a few years ago.
Erin(Jenny’s daughter), Mom Jenny, and me a few years ago.

I don’t think I’ll ever feel completely at home in this world, C.S. Lewis made me understand that:

“If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”
― C.S. Lewis

I’m grateful though for the memory of Jenny’s home where I was welcomed and accepted and loved. It was a little taste of the place Jesus has gone to prepare for all who believe in Him.

1“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God ; believe also in me. 2My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. 4You know the way to the place where I am going.” John 14:2

Do you know the way to your forever home?

*My dear mother is a wonderful woman who had her hands full, I don’t blame her in the least, I was an easy child who didn’t demand much so it was easy to let me go my own way. My mother too is thankful for the kind people in our lives who helped care for her children.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home?

  1. Dearest Martha, Carlene told me of a beautiful tribute you had written about me. I am not very computer literate and only check mail and fb probably once every two weeks and had no idea how I would find what she was referring to. The above Blog? on Home, is just beautiful and I just found it quite by accident tonight I always try to read anything you write; and there it was. We all, if we are blessed, have had the priviledge of being adopted into another ‘family of choice’. Mine was the Webb house. Nana Webb was known as ‘Aunt Helen’. I was just another one of the kids. Who would guess what the years would bring. Looking back on those years (a hundred years ago), I am so proud and blessed to have been Mum Webb to so many. I am so thankful that God has kept you and Carlene in my life and that you both have chosen. Thank you so much for your kind words and memories. I can’t imagine our lives if Jesus hadn’t been in them. God bless you Martha, you and your little family. I am so proud of the job you have done as a mother and wife. To God be the Glory!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

