It is Finished!

Incomplete. Again. Never quite finished, again.  The book started, the exercise program left by the wayside, the refinishing project not finished, the bachelor degree never earned,  course work  started to become a nutritionist stopped after 3 courses, the seven blog posts sitting in the draft tab can’t bring to a conclusion. Cursed by an inability to finish things.

Careers in restaurants, store management, multi-level marketing (Amway) left unfinished.  Work at pregnancy centers, homeschool co-ops, church positions; never stayed long. Oh and my children, I wish I could say I completed them and made them ready for the world, but no they too are incomplete at my hands as a mother. Can anyone relate? What have you left unfinished that follows you around like a curse and beats you down, whispers to you that you are worthless, unfit, undeserving?  Those whispers are lies.

Even though the facts might be true it is not the whole of a life.  The path traveled is not a straight line to the top of some imaginary ladder of success in which you will know that you’ve “arrived”.

To counter the lies I could give  a list of what I have accomplished. There are a few things. Is that the point? Put everything on a scale and hope the good done out weighs the good started but left undone? Is that the measure of a life?  or that the good done out weighs the bad done?  Oh, I have bad done …I have completed bad. Would rather not even put those on the scale.

No, God’s word informs my thinking. I can replace those lies, those whispers of worthlessness with truth. God is not weighing my actions, intentions, or what I’ve done or not done to determine my worth. On the cross Jesus finished the work of reconciliation and bridged the  chasm between me and God.  I no longer have to work to enter into God’s presence or to earn God’s favor or to complete God’s work  to live eternally with Him. He declared “It is finished!” He is the maker and completer of us. Paul was confident when he declared this to the Philippians:

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

He is the starter and the finisher and perfecter of our faith:

Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. Hebrews 12:1-3

We may struggle against sin, we may struggle with  weaknesses but this does not define our worth or our status before God. We need not be afraid!

Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. 29Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.b 30And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

We may leave many things unfinished in this life.  But with Jesus our hope is not in this life! We will not be judged by how many things we finished. Love, Christs love covers and completes and compels us to love above all.

10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. 11 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12 No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us. 1 John 4

The creator of the universe lives in us!! Completing us and making us perfect in His time, but not in this lifetime! We need not worry, be condemned or fret. He has us in his hands!

I’m reading a book, You’re Loved no Matter What, Freeing Your Heart from the Need to Be Perfect by Holley Gerth with some ladies. This is what has me thinking about being complete, because I think all the things left undone and feel condemned by are a manifestation of perfectionism and the lies I’ve believed. How does perfectionism manifest itself in your life?

3 thoughts on “It is Finished!

  1. Martha, many years ago I was so convicted of unfinished projects, books, sewing, household – you get the picture, the Lord told me to finish them and He would give me the grace to do it. He did and I did! It was a freeing moment and a lesson learned. My Jesus finished what He set out to do and in HIM I have the grace and strength to complete tasks I willingly take on. He is my Completer!!! xo

    Like

    1. thank you!! I’ve have learned to complete what’s necessary and what He’s called me too by His grace. But I think I’ll always struggle with finishing things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

